de Milhou's lode (de Milhou's reef; Emerald mine), Emmaville (Vegetable Creek), Gough Co., New South Wales, Australia

Emeralds were first discovered in 1890, during mining of the tin-bearing vein. The area is located 9 km north of Emmaville. The deposit was called the Emerald Mine, but its commercial importance proved to be insignificant. Thickness of the emerald-bearing greisen bodies range from several cm to 1 m.

Prismatic emerald crystals, reaching 3 cm in length and 1 to 10 mm in thickness, as well as intergrowths of needle-like crystals are found in small cavities in association with dickite within quartz-topaz masses. Light-coloured stones predominate, a few stones have a bright emerald-green colour with slight yellowish tint. Density is low at 2.68 g/cm³.

Ref: E.Ya. Kievlenko (2003) Geology of gems, p. 96

Gemstone List


Copyright © Jolyon & Katya Ralph 1993-2018. Site Map. Locality, gem & photograph data are the copyright of the individuals who submitted them. For more information please contact the . Gemdat.org is an online information resource dedicated to providing free gemmological information to all.